Victorian Architecture Awards 2021

OVGA congratulates the winners of the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2021 Victorian Architecture Awards, featuring significant public projects.

Friday, 2 July 2021 at 6:16 am
Woodside Building for Technology and Design
Photo: Woodside Building for Technology and Design. Photographer: Michael Kai

OVGA congratulates the winners of the 2021 Victorian Architecture Awards. The top prize, sponsored by OVGA, is the Victorian Architecture Medal which was awarded to the Monash Woodside Building for Technology and Design by Grimshaw Architects in collaboration with Monash University. The Jury felt that this project provided an optimistic vision of the future and a powerful reminder of “the fundamental role of architects in creating humanist structures that last for generations.”

OVGA provided procurement advice and design review across the following projects:

  • The Sir Osborn McCutcheon Award for Commercial Architecture for Collins Arch by Woods Bagot and SHoP Architects. The project was also awarded a commendation in the Urban Design category in recognition of what the Jury called “the rarity in the Australian context of truly integrated mixed-use buildings within a singular form and applauds the ambition of the project as well as the skilful handling and resolution of the complex programmatic constraints.”
  • The Joseph Reed Award for Urban Design for Carrum Station and Foreshore Precinct, Cox Architecture. Described by the jury as “an extraordinary offer of civic generosity, elevating the commuter experience through the gift of a panoramic Port Phillip Bay view.”
  • The William Wardell Award for Public Architecture for the Springvale Community Hub by Lyons. Continuing the celebration of placemaking, the Jury said the project “embodies the spirit of public architecture” that “balances charming Australian irreverence with evident respect for the importance of representing people and place.” The project was also given an award in the Urban Design category.
  • Commendations for Public Architecture and Urban Design were also awarded to the Prahran Square by Lyons.

Congratulating all winners, Victorian Chapter President Bill Krotiris, said, “A key theme among this year’s award winners was excellence at the precinct scale, underscoring that great architecture is about people and the creation of places that best enhance their daily lives.”

A full list of the winners can be found on the Australian Institute of Architects website.